RV 2019 Invited Speakers

Akshay Rajhans
Dr. Akshay Rajhans is a Principal Research Scientist at MathWorks. His work and research interests lie in multi-formalism model-based design of cyber-physical systems. He organizes the MathWorks Research Summits and other external research conferences, and has been an invited speaker and a panelist at various research gatherings for over a decade. Earlier, he worked on electronic control for diesel engine applications at Cummins and on non-intrusive load monitoring at Bosch Research. He has a Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University and an M.S. from University of Pennsylvania.

David Basin
David Basin is professor of Computer Science at ETH Zurich and department head. He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Cornell University in 1989 and his Habilitation from the University of Saarbrucken in 1996. From 1997–2002 he held the chair of Software Engineering at the University of Freiburg. He is the founding director of the Zurich Information Security Center, which he led from 2003-2011. He is Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security and an ACM fellow.

Sanjit A. Seshia
Sanjit A. Seshia is a Professor in the Dept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley. He received an M.S. and Ph.D. in CS from Carnegie Mellon University, and a B.Tech. in CS and Eng. from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. His research interests are in formal methods for dependable and secure computing, with a current focus on the areas of cyber-physical systems, computer security, and robotics. He has made pioneering contributions to the areas of satisfiability modulo theories (SMT), SMT-based verification, and inductive program synthesis. He is co-author of a widely-used textbook on embedded, cyber-physical systems and has led the development of technologies for cyber-physical systems education based on formal methods. His awards and honors include a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, and the Frederick Emmons Terman Award for contributions to electrical engineering and computer science education. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.